Champions of Change Karnataka State Award 2023

Governor Thawar Chand Gehlot awarded the "Champions of Change (COC)" Karnataka Award to 25 individuals. The Champions of Change Karnataka Award recognizes notable individuals for their contributions to the advancement of social development, bravery, and community service.

Champions of Change Karnataka State Award 2023

On November 7, 2023, Governor of Karnataka Thawar Chand Gehlot awarded the Champions of Change Karnataka Award to twenty-five individuals. Tuesday's ceremony took place at the Radisson Blu Bengaluru Outer Ring Road. Prominent individuals were honored at the event for their contributions to inclusive social development and community services. 

"Champions of Change Karnataka" Award is a state version of the Champions of Change National Award. This is the first edition of COC Karnataka State Award. 

Champions who have made positive contributions to the science, technology, health, and education departments are recognized with the Champions of Change (COC) Award. It also pays tribute to people who have worked to improve the lives of women and children. 

Gehlot emphasized during his speech at the function the value of putting the welfare of others before one's own interests. “Those who prioritise the welfare of others over personal gain serve as role models for the development of society,” he said. Along with congratulating each recipient, he urged them to keep up their excellent work for society.

K. G. Balakrishnan (Konakuppakatil Gopinathan Balakrishnan), the former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India and Chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission of India is the Jury chairman. He said that every possible effort should be to encourage generosity in the society.

Other notable attendees and dignitaries included Justice Gyan Sudha Mishra, a former Supreme Court judge and vice-chairperson of the award selection committee; Advocate Nandan Jha, President of the Interactive Forum on Indian Economy; Shyam Jaju, a former national vice president of the Bharatiya Janata Party; and Dayakar Ratakonda, a former Indian ambassador, who served as advisors to the committee.


The list of recipients of Champions of Change Karnataka State Award 2023


The Champions of Change Karnataka State Award 2023 organized by the Interactive Forum on Indian Economy included:


1. Bharat Ratna CNR Rao, Indian Chemist (Science and Innovation)
2. Padma Vibhushan S. M. Krishna, former Minister of External Affairs of India, 10th Chief Minister of Karnataka, and 19th Governor of Maharashtra (Social Welfare)
3. Padma Vibhushan Dr. D Veerendra Heggade, Member of Parliament and administrator of the Dharmasthala Temple (Social Welfare)
4. Padma Shri Tulsi Gowda, Indian Environmentalist (Social Welfare)
5. Padma Shri Manjamma Jogathi, Folk Artist (Culture) 
6. Shri Tejasvi Surya, Member of Parliament (Social Welfare)
7. Shri Vishnuvardhan, Posthumous, Kannada Actor (Culture)
8. Dr. V Ravichandran, Kannada Actor & Director (Culture)
9. Khusboo Yadav CEO, Jio Entertainment Services (Social Welfare)
10. Prithvi Raj Singh Founder, Gameskraft Technologies Pvt. Ltd.  (Innovation & Skill Development)
11. Sri Anand Sankeshwar MD, VRL Logistics (Social Welfare)
12. Shri Bipin Dayal (Social Welfare)
13. Dr. Somdutta Singh (Social Welfare)
14. Shri Somjeet Singh (Sports)
15. Shri Venkatesh Prasad, Indian Former Cricketer & Coach (Sports)
16. Dr. Daisy Bagchi (Healthcare)
17. Shri Nikhil Paul (Science)
18. Shri Upendra Rao Kollu (Social Welfare)
19. Smt. Rajeshwari Gayakwad (Sports)
20. Shri Bipin Chandra (Social Welfare)
21. Dr. Rajah Vijay Kumar (Healthcare)
22. Shri Rajesh Reddy Shivashankar (Social Welfare)
23. Shri B. Ramachandra (Social Activist)
24. Dr. Balaga Prakash Rao (Social Welfare)
25. Shri Upendra Rao (Culture)