• Home
  • Politics
  • 30-minute break for Namaz removed by Rajya Sabha Chairman Dhankar

30-minute break for Namaz removed by Rajya Sabha Chairman Dhankar

30-minute break for Namaz removed by Rajya Sabha Chairman Dhankar
Jagdeep Dhankar

Jagdeep Dhankar, the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, recently announced a modification in the Friday session schedule. He stated that this change is aimed at synchronizing the timing of Rajya Sabha sessions with those of the Lok Sabha. On December 8th, Dhankar conveyed this alteration, emphasizing that it eliminates the additional 30-minute break on Fridays that was previously allotted for Namaz.


The issue was brought to attention due to the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Rajya Sabha, which allocates an additional 30 minutes on Fridays for Muslim members in the upper house to offer namaz. According to the rulebook, Rajya Sabha typically conducts sessions from 11 AM to 1 PM and then from 2 PM to 6 PM, with a one-hour lunch break from 1 PM to 2 PM. However, on Fridays, the lunch break for the house is scheduled for 2:30 PM, and although not explicitly stated, it is implied that this extra break is provided for namaz.


During the zero hours, DMK MP Tiruchi N. Siva brought up the issue, pointing out an agenda for 2 pm on the same Friday. While MP Tiruchi N. Siva asserted that the Namaz break had been eliminated from the Rajya Sabha, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankar clarified that this modification did not commence on that specific Friday but had been in effect for some time. He emphasized that the alteration was implemented by the rules he had outlined, and adequate reasons for the change had been provided.


Dhankar clarified the situation by noting that the parliament includes members from diverse communities, and special exceptions cannot be granted exclusively for Muslim Parliamentarians. Therefore, the adjustment in timings was implemented to align the schedules of both the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. He emphasized that since the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are integral components of the Parliament, it is essential for them to adhere to the same timeframe.